top of page
Search

Where do I start?

After writing my three-page rant and considering the possibility of making a video intended to catch the attention of the press, I spoke with a female Professor of Punch and Judy - Pat’s Puppets. I had a story coming to mind; a story that used a children’s favourite puppet show about domestic violence as its inspiration. In my story, Punch and Judy are real people. They’re alive today and living in the Lake District; why the Lake District I don’t know as I’ve never even been there, but it seemed to make sense that if she couldn’t be near the seaside, she’d be near, water somewhere entertaining the children.


The story was bringing out mental issues that Mr. Punch and Judy suffered all types in fact. Did I know ‘enough about Punch and Judy to be able to answer any questions that the press might ask’ she said – I didn’t! In fact, I’d only ever seen Punch and Judy shows a few times in my life. I had to find out more about the shows...


1. Who were the stock characters?


2. If they’re real people how would they fit into the lives of Mr. Punch and Judy?


3. Who were Punch and Judy (I’d heard they had been derived from Pulcinella and Joan, Dame Joan to be precise)?


4. Were Pulcinella, Joan, Punch and Judy ever real people?


So many questions and no ideas so where to start?


I started by researching as many Punch and Judy shows as I could find.




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page